THREAT SIGNAL Weeds Out The Weak In This “Elimination Process” Exclusive Full-Band Playthrough


You may know Threat Signal as the band with the singer who is often compared to the late Chester Bennington (so much so that he recorded a Linkin Park cover just so people would shut up). You may know them as a band that has had a revolving door of crazy good guitarists (a trend currently continued by two badasses by the names of Travis Montgomery and Matt Perrin). No matter how you came to know them, their new record Disconnect will help you know them in a whole new light (or in a whole new canoe!).

In this exclusive playthrough premiere, we see the whole band (including vocalist Jon Howard) performing their song “Elimination Process” from the aforementioned album, which came out last Friday (pick it up here real quick – due to a manufacturing delay, the CD version won’t be available until Nov. 24th, so you can grab it there digitally). It’s kind of more like a music video, to be honest, which is just fine with me – just with more performance and less story (who needs it anyway?).

Combining the complexity of thrash metal, with a more contemporary groove sound involving technical rhythms and melodic musical passages, THREAT SIGNAL finally returns with its fourth studio album, “Disconnect”. The album is set to be released on November 10th worldwide via Agonia Records.

Founder & vocalist Jon Howard commented: “Well, we made it to album number 4! To say its been a tough ride would be an understatement, but as the shit piles on, we’ll keep shovelling that shit off!! So we began writing this album back in 2012, and continued writing over the next 3 years until we were able to hit the studio again. Basically our thought process while writing was to not have an end goal of what the album should sound like. We didn’t plan to make a really heavy album, or a melodic album, or take anyone else’s input on what we should sound like. We basically just wrote songs with a clear and open mindset until Disconnect grew together. This album ranges from melodic metal, to hard rock, to thrash metal, and even down to a chill acoustic tune, its a roller coaster of a ride while staying true to the Threat Signal sound. You will feel the energy from all of our previous albums plus something new. A big thanks to Agonia records for believing in us and finally getting this album released. Also a HUGE thanks to the fans for sticking with us over the years. I’d like to dedicate our album Disconnect to my fallen friend and former Threat Signal drummer Norm Killeen. May you be jamming with the best of them in the next life!!! Peace and love”. 

“Disconnect” was recorded and produced by vocalist Jon Howard and lead guitarist Travis Montgomery. Mixing and mastering were done by Mark Lewis (DevilDriver, Whitechapel, Battlecross, Coal Chamber). Artwork for the album was created by Ludovic Cordelieres of Rusalkadesign (Kamelot).

1. Elimination Process
2. Nostalgia
3. Walking Alone
4. Exit The Matrix
5. Falling Apart
6. Aura
7. Betrayal
8. To Thine Own Self Be True
9. Dimensions
10. Terminal Madness
11. Eyes Sewn Shut*

Written by

As Editor-in-Chief of Gear Gods, I've been feeding your sick instrument fetishism and trying unsuccessfully to hide my own since 2013. I studied music on both coasts (Berklee and SSU) and now I'm just trying to put my degree to some use. That's a music degree, not an English one. I'm sure you noticed.

Latest comment
  • Shit did I wake up in 2005 again?

leave a comment