PALADIN Set The Sky Ablaze With This Exclusive Guitar Playthrough For “Shoot for the Sun” By TAYLOR WASHINGTON

Thrash and power metal band Paladin are set to release their opus Ascension on May 17th via Prosthetic Records, and have recently put out the first single from the album entitled “Shoot for the Sun”! The Atlanta-based 4-piece have been shredding on the metal scene since 2015, and guitarist/vocalist Taylor Washington is here now to shred some more on the very same tune, only right here, on Gear Gods!


If it weren’t obvious (it is), these guys bring the heat in this track. Right off the bat, we’re hit with the searing guitar work that Taylor lays down and the pummeling drums and bass that set the tone for the entire song. And then, seemingly out of nowhere, the vibrato-soaked vocals that Taylor sports smack you in the best possible way. Is there nothing this dude can’t do?

And about the tune, here’s what Taylor had to say:

“For this video, I used my ESP LTD Elite ST-1 (that’s a mouthful) with a Duncan Distortion in the bridge and a Duncan JB Jr. in the neck. I love this guitar and I’ve had it the longest of all the ones I currently own, some of which you can see in the background. It’s on par with an ESP Standard, qualitywise. I tune to D standard and use Elixir Nanoweb 9-46 gauge strings. I like little baby strings so I can do my big boy vibrato without my tiny fingers getting tired. I use a Kemper for all my sounds. Rhythms are 5150 III and leads are a Cameron CCV that I actually profiled from an AxeFX II.”

Upcoming Dates:

  • 4/27 Athens, GA @ The Caledonia Lounge
  • 5/11 Atlanta, GA @ 529 (Album Release show!)
  • 5/12 Asheville, NC @ The Odditorium 
  • 5/16 Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
  • 5/17 Chicago, IL @ Reggie’s/Legions of Metal Fest
  • 5/19 Louisville, KY @ Kaiju Bar
  • 6/21 Gainesville, GA @ Mule Camp Tavern
  • 7/19 Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn  

Be sure to pre-order Ascension here before it drops May 17th.

Written by

Senior Editor at Gear Gods living in LA. Just trying to figure this whole music thing out, really.

No comments

leave a comment